Games in the premier league
English Premier League

Who is the Best Player in the English Premier League?

The English premier league was formed in 1992 and has been the starting point of a bright career of some of the world’s greatest football players. According to football fans, the English Premier League is arguably the best league both in England and around the globe.

The best player in the premier league is awarded to the most outstanding players every year in the form Premier League Player of the Season.

The best player of the season is selected by a panel assembled by the premier league’s sponsors. These premier league sponsors consist of some football governing body’s members, the media, and fans’ votes.

Due to sponsorship reasons, they named it after Carling (1994-2001); it was called the Barclaycard Player of the Year (2001 to 2004); Barclays Player of the Season from 2004 to 2016, and from 2016 – 2017, it was called the EA Sports Player of the Season.

Previously, the English premier league had no sponsor until Carling signed a four-year £12 million contract initiated by the next season.

Aside from the deal with the English premier league, Carling introduced some individual awards for outstanding players. Some of these awards include the Golden Boot award, etc. The player of the month and season awards were only awarded during the 1994 to 1945 season.

Premier League games

Awarded Players, their Clubs and year of being awarded

As mentioned earlier, the first award was handed out within the 1994-95 season. The first player of the season award was handed to Alan Shearer, the striker for Blackburn Rovers.

Other players were awarded this title, and they will be discussed below.

Alan Shearer– he was the striker for Blackburn Rovers. He was also the first player to win the Golden Boot in that season after winning the Premier League title. Shearer appeared 559 times in all games in the premier league.

Alan appeared in 118 premier league games for Southampton (1988 – 1992) and scored 23 league goals. He played for Blackburn Rovers and has a total of 138 appearances and 112 goals. Shearer played for Newcastle United and appeared in 303 games in the premier league, scoring 148 goals.

Peter Schmeichel- this player was the goalkeeper for Manchester United and Denmark. He played for Manchester United from 1995 -1996 and won the Best Player in the premier league award. That same season, he and his team won the Premier League championship.

Best players in the premier league



Thierry Henry- Henry played as a forward for Arsenal and his national team France. He won the European Golden Shoe and Premier League Championship with his club during his stay from 2003-04.

Cristiano Ronaldo- Ronaldo won the European Golden Shoe and FIFA World Player of the Year, that same twice. He went on to win the champions league with Manchester United during his stay from 2003-08.

Kevin De Bruyne- Kevin De Bruyne is a Belgian midfielder playing for Manchester City. He is the current best player in the English premier league.

Other players include Mohamed Salah, an Egyptian forward who played for Liverpool (2017-18); N’Golo Kante, a midfielder from France who played for Chelsea (2016-17). Other winners of the title include Jamie Vardy (Leicester city: 2015-16), Eden Hazard (Chelsea: 2014-15).

So far, Manchester United has produced players who have won the title of the best player in the premier league, while leading their teams to become champions of the league.